Lavon EDC Gateway to East Texas



The mission of the Economic Development Corporation is to strengthen and diversify the economic base of the City of Lavon.

The Economic Development Corporation serving the City of Lavon was established in 2004 as a 4B Corporation. It is a governmental, nonprofit economic development corporation reporting to the Lavon City Council. The EDC was established to encourage top-quality businesses to place job-generating investments in Lavon while creating a superior environment for business expansion and retention.

The EDC generates interest in the region through the publication of marketing materials and data, and represents the City of Lavon on marketing missions throughout the state of Texas and occasionally the Nation. The EDC encourages businesses to locate in the region by facilitating their site selection needs in a fair, professional and confidential manner. Each time the EDC locates a new business investment in the region, nearly every company and organization benefits. With more money flowing through the economy, additional revenue flows to the City and local businesses.


Economic Development Corporation Meetings

The Economic Development Corporation is managed by a seven (7) member board of directors. The Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors meetings are held at least once a month at the Lavon City Hall, 120 School Road. Meetings are normally held at 7:00 PM on the  second Monday of each month.  The meetings are open to the public. Lavon residents and visitors are welcome to attend. A second meeting may be held on the fourth Monday of each month if necessary to complete board business.  

Meeting notifications are posted at City Hall 72 hours prior to each meeting  on the announcement board at the City Hall entrance near the accessibility ramp. Meeting notifications are also posted on the Economic Development Corporation website. Since schedules are subject to change, please verify the meeting date and time by visiting the EDC website prior to attending.



The Corporation consists of seven (7) members who are appointed by the City Council for two-year terms of office. Places 1, 3, 5 and 7 are appointed in even-numbered years, and Places 2, 4 and 6 in odd-numbered years. Terms begin July 15 of each year.



Place 1 - Kay Wright, President
Place 2 - Manzelle Williams,Secretary 
Place 3 - Vicki Sanson, Vice President 
Place 4 - Rachel Dumas , Public Information Officer 
Place 5 - Joe Serpette, Director

Place 6 - John Kell, Treasurer
Place 7 - Jose Garcia, Director

Recent News

Lakepointe Development featured in Dallas Morning News
June 11th 2021 - Featured today in the Dallas Morning News is the Lavon... read more.

City approves Tax Abatement Policy
November 23rd 2020 - At the November 17, 2020 City Council meeting the Lavon City Council... read more.

July 11, 2016 Lavon Monument Gateway Sign Groundbreaking
July 13th 2016 - The Lavon Economic Development Corporation(LEDC) held a groundbreaking... read more.

About Lavon Lavon EDC Site Selection Economic Profile Maps & Studies Small Business News

P.O. Box 340 | 120 School Road
Lavon, TX 75166
972.843.4220 | [email protected]